Trainee Profile: Nikki O.

Jake Trainee Profiles

How were you introduced to Crossfit?

My fiancé, John G and I have been athletes our entire lives, however by the middle of last year, we realized our athletic activities were few and far between. At that point, since we both knew a ‘normal’ gym would only bore the tears out of us, John researched Crossfit gyms in the area. He was introduced to CF a few years prior by friends of his, that would do the workouts out of their home. He knew it was pretty intense, but that’s what we were looking for. I was extremely intimidated when I first stepped into the ‘Space’, but Jake was the first person we met and he was extremely welcoming and easy going, I didn’t feel pushed into the WODs, he was great about knowing how we needed to adjust.

Biggest accomplishment in the gym so far:

I have three biggest accomplishments that I am most proud, one is my increase in strength with lifts, FINALLY a kipping pull-up (still need much work as I can only do maybe two to three), and my overall weight loss and better nutrition.

What do you want to accomplish next in the gym:

I would like to do 10 pull-ups unassisted, then row under 8:40

Favorite WOD/lift:

Favorite WOD is Fight Gone Bad, and favorite lift is back squat

I have always wanted to:

Be a baller, but since that’s not happening, I always wanted to be able to hike at higher elevations with little asthmatic issues. Still a feat that needs to be accomplished, and outside of Crossfit I always wanted to travel the world, however I am particularly partial to Australia, New Zealand, Italy, Galapagos, and Costa Rica..then after that moving onto other awesome places.

One word people use to describe me:

Awesome..haha just kidding..I would say energetic, you won’t see me sitting down much.

Outside of the gym I like to:

Hang out with my man, travel anywhere and everywhere and sight see, read, cook, ski, hike, find new places to have dinner, take candid pictures of people when they are not looking, go to Pittsburgh and visit the family and rock out like it’s 1989

Something nobody knows about me or would be surprised to know about me:

Wow..good question, I am pretty much an open book. The surprising thing is that I am older than I look..the not so surprising thing is I don’t act like it. No, in all seriousness, I would say one thing I did in my past life prior to getting a MS in engineering, is that I worked in the environmental field and spent a lot of time in DC cleaning up anthrax in my level B suit at all the Congress offices. Also, on a more fun note, I can sing and play the flute, saxophone and piano.

Favorite physical activity outside of Crossfit:

Skiing, hiking and biking..however if I had to pick a favorite skiing by far is my adrenaline drug of choice.

Favorite place to eat in Richmond:

Firebirds!!